Thursday, December 29, 2005

I'm really sleepy. Worked another 10 hour shift today. Inventory is tomorrow....only 4.5 hours more. Then I have a meeting at the bank. Wedding is on Saturday...I have the rehearsal tomorrow as well. It will be a long day. Goodnight.

Wednesday, December 28, 2005

This will be a short post. I'm really really tired. I worked yesterday from 9-5, practiced, and had a friend over to watch "The Creating of the Lord of the Rings Symphony." It was fairly boring, and I'm a bando. So I don't really recommend that one. I did learn an interesting tidbit; the soundtrack was performed by the Montreal Orchestra. Sweet.

Today I worked from 9 am until 7 pm. Half hour break in there somewhere...that was so long ago I don't really remember it. Oh well, it will be nice when it comes to payday. Someday I will get that new trombone....


Thats all for tonight, wedding is in 3 days. Can't wait to see Becker and to watch my big sister get married! :)

-RCC

Sunday, December 25, 2005

So today is Christmas. I must admit that our Christmas eve service was one of the more....shall we say "unique" services I've ever been to. I dont' know why, but sitting there in church I suddenly realized that this is probably the very last Christmas with my grandparents. The feeling just came over me that none of them will probably be around for another year. So that was slightly depressinng. On a lighter note, the service was beautiful...its really awesome to see 3,500 little candles lit around the sanctuary and everyone singing "Silent Night."

As far as gifts go, I received the Ipod Nano that I was hoping for....its pretty sweet. 1,000 songs....its just a little guy. hehe. Ummm....my sister bought me one of Megumi's cds, and that was great. I haven't heard any of her stuff yet, besides what she plays live. Josh bought me a really cool Barnes & Noble coffee mug...its leather and metal. AWESOME. I also got some gift cards and cash from the grandparents...so now I can keep saving for that new trombone! :)

Wedding in T-minus 6 days..

MERRY CHRISTMAS EVERYONE. :D


-RCC

Friday, December 23, 2005

this blogging thing is fairly addictive. Its kind of nice to have a "journal"of sorts again now that I'm at college. I miss it already, and I've only been home for a few days! I bought Christmas presents today, with money that I do not have. Bex and I bought sweet knee-high Christmas socks. Mine have penguins, hers have reindeer. Then my whole family bought hideous sweaters to wear for Christmas eve at Goodwill.

Also, I went to my Grandmother's today....she had prepared a special "Christmas tea" for me, my sisters, my mom, and my other grandmother. It was relaxing, but dragged on a bit longer than I expected. (try almost 3 hours). I love my grandma, but that is a little more time than I wanted to spend with her at once.

Lately I've been having trouble finding time to practice. That means I should spend less time on here and more time in the basement playing. :) I guess it didn't help that I spent 2 hours straight on facebook tonight. That will NOT become a habit.

Can't wait for Ashelys wedding. Its only a week away, and I'm really happy for my big sister. (not to mention nervous as hell for this speech I'm supposed to give.) Ah yes....being Maid of Honor has been great. Final plans are coming into place....I hope that I don't trip or fall down the aisle or something. That would probably not be a good idea.

Thats about all for tonight....its kind of sad how my life revolves around trombone and wedding plans....but I guess thats the way it goes sometimes.

-RCC

p.s- I was also asked out on a date tonight....it was kind of awkward, cuz the guy is one of my former band instructors. Oh well, we'll see how that goes. I'm going to view it as two friends getting together for coffee.....and I'll make sure to pay for my own drink. hehe.

Thursday, December 22, 2005

I'm at home now....after a lovely car trip with my good friend Ryan. We started off the trip by getting on the wrong expressway....so we took a detour to Stout. THEN we went back. It was only an extra hour added to our 4.5 hour trip, so no biggie. ha.

Haven't practiced yet...I feel a bit guilty. I decided I need a day or two off of playing, and that I will resume tomorrow. I will probably practice for several hours. I need to get better at trombone.

I somehow convinced my family to all buy ugly Christmas sweaters to wear on Christmas eve when we sit around and drink coke out of the bottles, open a present each, and eat delicious Christmas cookies. (homemade I might add...). That will be fun....its kind of sad to think that this is Ashley's last Christmas here with the family. I still can't believe that she'll be married in a week! Scary, and a little sad. I wonder if I'll ever find someone who wants to marry me....I hope so.

Enough sulking.....its Christmas time!


MERRY CHRISTMAS EVERYONE! (*Note: Merry Christmas NOT Season's Greetings or whatever other bullshit people try to make you say.)

Tuesday, December 20, 2005

life is alright. I get to go home tomorrow for a month or so. Not really sure how I feel about that one. Its true, I love my family, however I really am beginning to love the people here too. It'll be odd not seeing them for awhile.

Played my jury today. I FINALLY played something that I'm proud of, and received some credit for my hard work. (Straight A's). I must say it felt really REALLY good to nail that solo. Now I hope I'll be able to do the same in the future with more difficult pieces that come up. One step at a time....


Becker is over right now, but he can't sleep because hes sick. Probably dying....judging on the way he's coughing. Oh well....he'll be better soon (I hope).

Not a whole lot else going on.....I'm pretty tired, so I'm gonna get some sleep.
goodnight.

-RCC

Monday, December 19, 2005

Hmmm....this blog thing is more complex than I expected. I'll type something and then it will mysteriously vanish into cyberspace. Pretty awesome. Anways, life has been uneventful for the most part. Just finishing my first semester at college which is great...although a bit stressful.

Things are looking up (regarding my trombone playing). I feel like I am becoming more focused, and caring less about what I sound like in the practice rooms. I don't really care if people walk by when I make a mistake....that used to really bother me and would cause me to mess up more. So thats pretty cool. I'm proud that I was able to pull a whole solo together in basically 2 weeks and it sounds halfway decent. I suppose its not too suprising though, I have an incredible amount of support from the whole trombone studio.

I just signed on a house a few weeks ago. So I won't have to live here on campus again. (whoot!) The house is small but really nice, and I'll be living there with two of my bestest buddies, Bri and Heather. :) What makes them even more awesome than they already are is the fact that they too are brass players. Its good stuff.

Enough of my rambling for the day.

-RCC